The Audi affair

photo (1)

I passed my driving test 4 years ago with blinding luck. I really don’t think I was ready at the time, but the sweet allure of freedom forced me behind the wheel and put my fate in my own hands at long last.

My parents got me my first car for my 17th.  I walked out my front door to find a sweet little silver Ford KA dressed in a huge pink ribbon with various family members gathered around it, beaming. I couldn’t have been more excited.

The week I got my car was the week I watched the Dark Knight for the first time, so it was only logical to christen her The KAtmobile (don’t judge me). Fast forward 4 years and we are still together, or we were up until a month ago. She was good to me and certainly outdid her purpose, but it was time to move on and create new memories with a younger (and safer) vehicle. Cue, Rocky.

Rocky

Rocky is a 2 year old, black Audi A1. He’s faster, newer, sleeker and poncier than The KAtmobile and I love him. He has Bluetooth and everything! (I feel so swish when I rock the hands free). I knew I wanted him from the moment I saw him so I made arrangements to take a test drive just to seal the deal. I thought I had it all figured out, but when it came to signing on the dotted line, I choked. Buying a new car is scary! I was constantly worried that I wasn’t financially ready (even though living with parents is the most financially stable I will ever be) and I fretted that I wasn’t getting a good deal or that another car would come on the marketing that was better and cheaper and the other kids in class would laugh at me …

I triple checked with my dad to make sure I was getting a good deal and then checked again with mum but no amount of reassurance was going to change the situation. I had to do this by myself and learn from any mistakes made. So after a week of stalling, panicking and dry-heaving,  I signed the paperwork and drove into the sunset!

Of course Rocky and I are having a blast together and I couldn’t be more pleased with my purchase, but I was really surprised at how hesitant I was to move on from the KA. I thought I had been ready to buy a new car for a long time, but when it came down to the wire I still wasn’t ready to make the commitment – don’t think I can blame hypothyroidism for being a fraidy-cat! It has me wondering what other decisions I might face in the future and how I will deal with them.

What exciting risks have you made lately?

Leave a Reply

